1. K-State home
  2. »Engineering
  3. »College Awards
  4. »Frankenhoff Outstanding Research Award

Carl R. Ice College of Engineering

Carl R. Ice
College of Engineering

1046 Rathbone Hall
1701B Platt St.
Manhattan, KS 66506

Facebook icon Twitter icon Instagram icon

Prospective Students

Frankenhoff Outstanding Research Award

The Frankenhoff Outstanding Research award is based upon research accomplishments during the past five years. Selection criteria include the following:

  • Success in obtaining competitive funding and completion of research
  • Commitment to graduate education
  • Dissemination of research results through publications, presentations, patents, software and other means
  • Research leadership such as national recognitions and organizing research teams

Frankenhoff Outstanding Research Award 2019 Nomination Information

Current Recipient

Keith HohnKeith L. Hohn, CHE

This year's recipient is Keith L. Hohn, professor in the Tim Taylor Department of Chemical Engineering 

  • Hohn’s research focuses on heterogeneous catalysis for energy applications.
  • Since 2013, he has obtained more than $1.7M in funding, and mentored five Ph.D. students and two M.S. students to the completion of their degrees.
  • He has enabled the research of his many collaborators – e.g., through his NSF REU grants.

Past Recipients

Shuting Lei, IMSE, 2017
Robert Peterman, CE, 2016
Caterina Scoglio, ECE, 2016
Donghai Wang, BAE, 2015
David Steward, CE, 2014
Xinming (Simon) Ou, CIS 2013
Anil Pahwa, ECE, 2012
Scott DeLoach, CIS, 2011
Mary E. Rezac, CHE, 2010
Donghai Wang, BAE, 2009
Zhijian Pei, IMSE, 2008
Gurdip Singh, CIS, 2007
Douglas S. McGregor, MNE, 2006
Ronaldo G. Maghirang, BAE, 2005
John M. Hatcliff, CIS, 2004
Larry E. Erickson, CHE, 2003
Lakshmi N. Reddi, CE, 2002
Mohammad H. Hosni, MNE, 2001
Matthew B. Dwyer, CIS, 2000
James H. Edgar, CHE, 1998
David A. Schmidt, CIS, 1997
Byron W. Jones, ME, 1996
L. T. Fan, CHE, 1995