1. K-State home
  2. »Engineering
  3. »College Awards
  4. »Robert R. and Lila L. Snell Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

Carl R. Ice College of Engineering

Carl R. Ice
College of Engineering

1046 Rathbone Hall
1701B Platt St.
Manhattan, KS 66506

Facebook icon Twitter icon Instagram icon

Robert R. and Lila L. Snell Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

This award, established by the Snells, is awarded to a full professor with at least 15 years of experience at K-State. It is truly a career achievement award.  The Honors and Awards Committee makes the selection based on the following criteria:

  1. Feedback from alumni (not more than four references).
  2. Recognized innovation in teaching.
  3. Course and curriculum upgrades.
  4. Outstanding long-term student evaluations.
  5. Recommendations by peers (not more than four references).
  6. Demonstrated participation in regional and national conferences.

Nominations are made by the department head, with supporting letters from at least two full professors, or by four full professors (at least one from another department).

Current Recipient

eastonTodd Easton, IMSE

This year’s recipient is Todd Easton, associate professor in industrial and manufacturing systems engineering.

  • Dr. Easton has developed and implemented a new active teaching technique, lecture-based tutoring. His paper detailing the technique won the 2017 American Society of Engineering Education best paper award and is being used by instructors across campus.
  • After Dr. Easton began teaching, he redeveloped the introduction to industrial engineering class and enrollment in IMSE has nearly doubled since 2005.

Comments from a student:

  • “Students rearrange their schedules to take his classes. His popularity, though, is certainly not based on his being an easy teacher.”

Past Recipients

Stacy L. Hutchinson, BAE, 2018
Anil Pahwa, ECE, 2017
John J. Devore, ECE, 2016
Ronaldo G. Maghirang, BAE, 2015
Mo Hosni, MNE, 2014
Hani Melhem, CE, 2013
David L. Soldan, ECE, 2012
Charles Burton, ARE/CNS, 2011
Jim Goddard, ARE/CNS, 2010
Don Lenhert, ECE, 2009
Terry Beck, MNE, 2008
Naiqian Zhang, BAE, 2007
J. Garth Thompson, MNE, 2006
Medhat M. Morcos, EECE, 2005
J. Kenneth Shultis, MNE, 2004
Richard R. Gallagher, EECE, 2003
N. Dean Eckhoff, MNE, 2002
Charles R. Bissey, ARE/CNS, 2001
Donald R. Hummels, EECE, 2000
Larry A. Glasgow, CHE, 1999
Do Sup Chung, BAE, 1998